Commissioned Kippot

I was thrilled to be asked to make a custom Kippah for a lady at our Sisterhood Shabbat on Friday.

As with all commissions, I will be making two choices. The other one is currently in the washer being fulled and will be embellished today, g-d willing.

Here my sweet daughter was willing to model it for me. She’s getting very good at modeling! Ah the things we learn in homeschool!

It came out gorgeous, if I do say so myself! 

The second choice has a more teal colored background. I’m not sure that the orange flowers will work with it. I’ll have to let it happen.

I find that commissioned pieces pose a challenge for me. I have to keep reminding myself to create for me and if I like it so will the customer. I find I begin to focus on what she might want. Now how on earth am I supposed to know that, I’m not a mind reader! So I keep telling myself (out loud, no wonder my kids think I’m nuts) That if I love it so will she. My DD asked me how I know that. Well I don’t, but if I’m not enjoying the process, then what’s the point.

More pictures can be seen on my flikr site:

If you would like to commission a kippah please email me for more info.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

