The 2nd of Two Commissioned Kippot

I finished it yesterday just as it was getting, unfortunately, too dark for pictures.

This kippah is made with a different yarn than I normally use for felting. I had to wash it 4 times to get it to shrink almost as much as the others. I used Lamb’s Pride which is a wool/mohair blend. I like the subdued colors of this brand, but it doesn’t full as easily and is a tiny bit scratchier, which isn’t relevant for a kippah so much, but I wouldn’t want to wear a sweater made from it!

I took about 40 pictures today and not one of them showed the background color accurately.
It is a very pretty and subtle teal color, more green than most of these photos show.

So I manipulated the color on this swatch in Photoshop to get it as close as possible, still not quite there, but it will have to do. Best to see this one in person.


This closeup shows the vines nicely. The oranges really pop in sunlight.

I really enjoyed making these! Now the question is… will my charming customer be able to chose?
I’m not sure I could!

My next project (on the needles) is a knitted and fulled kitty cat… a joint effort birthday gift for a sweet almost-7-year-old friend of my DDs’. I will be knitting it and Rowan will be felting the face and embellishments on it herself! Fun. Fun. Fun.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Melanie on April 13, 2015 - 12:59 am

    Hi would you be willing to share your pattern for the felted Kippah?

Leave a Reply

