Middling the Unicorn

This is my first attempt at Middling offspring.

Let me explain…

My mother had a great love of unicorns, long before the symbol was popular. She also had a love of toys long after most adults abandon theirs. Middling was my mother’s stuffed unicorn. It was the only thing I was allowed to take from among my mother’s belongings when she died. I was, naturally, very attached to her, but in the many moves of my childhood she disappeared.

Today this little Middling was born… She is shaped a bit differently from the Middling I remember, and her colors and materials are considerably different. I am sure she is merely step 1 in the evolution of a long lost toy.

This Middling is made from a recycled wool sweater that was fulled, sewn, stuffed and then embellished with needle felting and love.

  1. #1 by rckidteacher on January 25, 2008 - 1:24 pm

    It is a beautiful even if it is a first attempt. Can’t wait to see it evolve. Webster’s DefinitionEvolution: a process of continuous change from a lower, simpler, or betterIt is already beautiful can’t imagine how much better you can make it!~Michelle

  2. #2 by cozycoleman on January 25, 2008 - 5:09 pm

    Aaw thanks. I already have a taker on Etsy! She wants 2, better get to work.

  3. #3 by oldeschoolknits on January 27, 2008 - 4:20 am

    Absolutely adorable, I imagine that there will be an entire herd middlings roaming about your home soon.

Leave a Reply

