A Gallery of Hand Painted Tallits

I have a customer interested in a custom tallis. I just realized that there isn’t an easy place online to see my finished (and sold) works. So, by special request, here is a quick gallery of previous projects.

click on the picture for a larger view

My very first Tallis. This tallit has 18 butterflies hand drawn and painted adorning a pale peach mottled background. The stripes across the bottom are teal. Still one of my favorites.

I promised the customers (some dear friends of mine) that I would never make another that was exactly like this one. Of course, that isn’t possible anyway, due to the nature of the medium. I could make a similar one, but none identical.

I have since made two other butterfly tallesim in yellow:

 

 

Pale Yellow Butterfly Tallis

Pale Yellow Butterfly Tallis

Closeup of Pale Yellow Butterfly Tallit

Closeup of Bright Yellow Butterfly Tallit

Closeup of Bright Yellow Butterfly Tallit

Here you see my “Four Matriarchs” tallis. I have made two in blue, one darker and one lighter. Both have sold. I still have the design which can be made in any color range.

Sarah and Rebekkah

Sarah and Rebekkah

Rachel and Leah

Rachel and Leah

Four Matriarchs Tallis light blue

Four Matriarchs Tallis light blue

Detail four matriarchs

Sarah and Rebekkah

Rachel and Leah

4 Matriarchs Tallis

4 Matriarchs Tallis

I have made several “Birds on a Wire” Taleisim. This is my most popular style. I originally designed it for my own son for his Bar Bitzvah.

Birds on a wire Tallis

Birds on a wire Tallis

Some of these orders have had custom atarot (the band around the collar is called an Atarah). Most have the traditional prayer.

Birds on a Wire closeupBirds on a Wire Tallis

Birds on a Wire closeupBirds on a Wire Tallis

The tree is often used as symbolism in Judaism for Torah and our celebration of life. I was commissioned to make a Tallis for a bat mitzvah who loved this symbolism:

Tree Tallis

Tree Tallis

Tree Tallis, back view

Tree Tallis, back view

Closeup of Tree Tallit

Closeup of Tree Tallit

I have even made a “Cow Tallis” for a dear friend of mine who is a cattle farmer.

Closeup of Cow Tallis

Closeup of Cow Tallis

Cow Tallis

As you can see, I accept requests for just about anything… although I must draw the line at pigs 😉

Pink Floral Tallis and Kippah

Pink Floral Tallis and Kippah

All of my talleisim come with a matching or coordinating kippah and bag and can be purchased through my Etsy shop at kippahmitzvah.etsy.com.

If you don’t see what you are interested in, please convo me on Etsy or email me at kippahmitzvah@hotmail. com

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Lisa on April 11, 2011 - 2:07 pm

    Your work is incredible! Thank you for sharing this. Is there any way you could make the photos bigger so we can see them items more clearly?

    • #2 by cozycoleman on April 11, 2011 - 11:50 pm

      I can’t seem to get wordpress to do that. Still learning it. If you click on the image it does bring you to a larger version though.

  2. #3 by Eileen Patterson on April 11, 2011 - 4:26 pm

    Your work is beautiful!

  3. #4 by Linda Blatchford on April 12, 2011 - 1:27 pm

    Those are beautiful. Mazel tov on your commissions. They are works of arts.

  4. #5 by Jasper @ Best Kippah on May 31, 2011 - 2:53 pm

    You create really beautiful designs! Way different from the other tallis and kippahs I’ve seen before!

Leave a Reply

