Why the Rainbow Ablet has been out of stock for so long.

Rainbow Ablet as made at The Ablet Factory

Since I have had so many inquiries about my popular rainbow style Ablet, I’ve decided to write a blog post as explanation, rather than typing the explanation over and over in convos on Etsy and emails to my site.

So here’s the dealie:
We ran out of the beads to make the Rainbow Ablet over 2 months ago.
My supplier ran out of the beads too, but assured me they were on order from India. 6,000 cases of beads arrived in NYC on June 6th. I only need one case!
They have, apparently, been held up in NYC customs since then. I call my supplier almost daily (I think they are starting to dread my calls). If anyone happens to know a NYC customs worker and would like to offer them a bribe, I will be most obliged.

Now, for my Etsy customers, here’s the situation:
I have a contract with a distributor (Creative Commodities) who are having the rainbow style manufactured in China for distribution to large retailers here in the USA. (Exciting, yes!)

IF my beads get out of customs where they have been held captive BEFORE my distributor gets their first shipment, then I will be able to sell a few more of that style on Etsy. We will make around 20 of them, but when those are gone, they are gone for good.
IF Creative Commodities get their shipment before I get my beads, then I will only be able to sell that style on my other site knittingabacus.com and that style WILL NOT be handmade by me, but will be handmade in China.
Am I making any sense?

It is a race against the clock.

Chinese Ablet

The Chinese order is expected by the middle of next week. (July 26th-ish). I have no idea when NYC customs will release my beads, and it is possible that the Chinese order gets held in customs too… it’s all so darned complicated. But my contract with the distributor gives them exclusive rights to the Rainbow style and I will be buying it from them wholesale, essentially becoming a reseller of one of my own products. All my other styles will still be handmade by me and available on Etsy.

This picture shows a sample of what the Chinese version will look like and it will be available at knittingabacus.com and (hopefully) some big retailers both online and IRL. Cool the way they are stamping the word Ablet on it, huh?

So that’s the story in a nutshell as they say… Thanks for your patience. If you would like my facebook page, I’ll be updating there as soon as I know anything.

🙂
Sharon

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

